50mm – What’s 50mm on YOUR camera?

So you’ve already read the basics of Focal Length/Angle of View & Crop Factor/Focal Length Multiplier and now you want to know how that information is applicable to your camera and your photography.

Scroll down to the bottom to see the summary chart.

In the past, I’ve had people ask me how they can enter the 50mm Experiment Challenges if they don’t have a 50mm lens or even a DSLR. Due to the different sizes of sensor, not all 50mm are created equal!  If you filter your metadata in your favourite photographic workflow software (Lightroom for me) for 50mm, you won’t be getting the same angle of view if you’re using cameras with different sensor sizes (full frame, point and shoot, etc.)

As I’ve mentioned before, since I use a 50mm on my Nikon D90 which has a 1.5x crop factor, it is actually shooting at 75mm.

Well isn’t that cheating?!?!

Well no, I don’t think so. The whole point was for me to use the cheapest lens in my arsenal and limit myself to inspire creativity. Still doing that!

That said, if you’re shooting full frame, you don’t have to buy a 75mm lens (which doesn’t exist as a prime, you’d have to use a zoom to get there).

For the purposes of the challenges (like the one I posted 1 week ago), I will accept anything between 50 and 75mm equivalent focal length OR anything shot with a lens set to 50mm (no matter what the equivalent focal length might be).

Huh?

What that means for you:

Have a look at the chart below and find your camera! You may submit photos to any of the challenges as long as they are made with a lens at 50mm OR if they fit within the parameters for your specific camera below:

50mm Experiment - Focal Length & Crop Factor Chart for 50mm Challenges

If you don’t know how to find out how many mm your camera is at, take photos at different zoom levels and then check the EXIF data to find out what focal length your camera is taking pictures at (Lightroom makes finding this quite easy).

Also, if you’re not sure where you fit, don’t hesitate to comment below with your camera make and model and I will see what I can find for you! Comments and questions are welcome!

Matt

PS Two more examples coming up on the weekend!

2 Comments on “50mm – What’s 50mm on YOUR camera?”

  1. Ali Radwani says:

    I am using Nikon 35mm f/1.8, it is a wonderful kit.

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Hi Ali,

      Yes, I’m sure that would be a great lens to have – I have yet to make that purchase. So far I’m quite happy with my 50mm 1.8, but I would love to add the 35mm as well. It makes a big difference to have the f1.8 aperture eh?


Leave a Reply

