50mm – errrr 75mm Experiment… have I been lying to you?

Pond Shadows - When is 38mm closer to 50mm than 50mm?

Pond Shadows
Mt. Field National Park – Tasmania, Australia

38mm (57mm equivalent)
1/200 sec at f8.0, ISO 800
Edited in Lightroom
Captured January 20, 2012

So when is a 38mm closer to 50mm than an actual 50mm lens?

Well all of the time when I take photos. This blog has actually been a 75mm experiment using a 50mm lens.

Confused?

Don’t worry, I was too at first. However, in order to clarify things, I’m going to spend the next few days posting information explaining my statement above.

By the end of the week, you should have a better idea of what I mean and be a lot more clear about the requirements of the most recent 50mm Challenge I posted on Friday.

So sit back, have a read through of the posts as they come up.

Make sure that you ask questions if you have any, that way when I get into internet range on Kangaroo Island I can address the gaps that I’ve made in my written explanations. The general progression I’ve planned is a discussion of Focal Length/Field of View, Crop Factor/Focal Length Multiplier and what that all means to your photography and the 50mm Experiment Challenges.

 First post comes at you tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

