50mm – Port Arthur Prison Bars

Port Arthur Prison: Post 5 out of 6.

Port Arthur Prison Bars

1/1250 sec at f4.0, ISO 200
Edited in Lightroom
Captured January 28, 2012

Post 1 – Port Arthur Prison Ruins & Background Information
Post 2 – Port Arthur Prison Bar Sunstars – black & white
Post 2b – Response to Photo Editing Question
Post 3 – Port Arthur Prison Ruins – black and white
Post 4 – Port Arthur Prison Bar Sunstars
Post 5 – Port Arthur Prison Bars 
Post 6 – Port Arthur Guard Tower

6 Comments on “50mm – Port Arthur Prison Bars”

  1. Will says:

    Here’s a question for you Matt! Why have you chosen to use ISO 200 when there is more than enough light to allow you to go to 100 (and in doing so achieve a finer image)?

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Great question Will!

      I own a Nikon D90 and the native (base) ISO is actually 200. You can go below to ISO 100 (and I sometimes do when trying to extend my exposure for long exposure shots), but you don’t really get any image quality (IQ) gains. In fact, from what I’ve read, if you use the D90 at lower than base ISO, you actually decrease the dynamic range the sensor can capture. The IQ of the Nikon D90 at ISO 200 is more than good enough for the work I do.

      That said, if I had a camera that had a native ISO of 100 or even 80 (like Canon DSLRs), I would have probably used that!

      Does that answer your question?

      • rachel jane says:

        I’ve just switched from Canon to Nikon and find it hard that the lowest is 200, when I would use 80 on my Canon for a similar situation!

      • Matt Korinek says:

        I found the same thing when I upgraded from my Canon S3 IS to my Nikon D90. However, since you can get larger aperture lenses for DSLRs (like the 50mm f1.8), I don’t find that I miss it much. Unless, like I said before, I’m trying to extend my exposure.

  2. Will says:

    I did wonder whether it was to do with the brand of camera and your answer confirms that! And yes Rach it would be quite hard to accept that 200 is as low as you can go!

    Have you heard whether the expanded ISO feature on other makes of cameras suffers from the reduction in DR? Most Canon’s for instance are expandable to as low as 50.

    • Matt Korinek says:

      I don’t know how it works for other brands, but I would expect it to be the same. If you could get the exact same results, why wouldn’t they just start their ISO at 50 instead of calling it “expandable”? You lose DR as the ISO goes up as well, the base is your best bet for full dynamic range.


Leave a Reply

