50mm – Pond Reflected Sunstars

Sunny Pond

Sunny Pond - Mt Field National Park

1/500 sec at f22, ISO 200
Edited in Lightroom
Taken January 20, 2012

You might be wondering why I used f22 when diffraction begins to take away sharpness at f8 or so. The reason is that I wanted to have sunstar rays in the sun’s reflection in the water. I tried other apertures, but it wasn’t really visible. This one still isn’t quite where I want it, but you can see some of the rays. View large to see the interesting detail in the water around the sun.

Luckily, sharpness doesn’t necessarily matter depending on the look you’re going for. I have started to edit the 50mm photos I’ve taken during the past two months and I’m finding that there’s a bunch that I really like that benefit from being “over” processed. Definitely not going for the realistic look here.

What do you think of the processing?

Matt

 

4 Comments on “50mm – Pond Reflected Sunstars”

  1. Wow, its awesome. looks like something in space!

  2. i think its so great to see people have fun with photography and not take it so serious and to perfection!.. I told this girl that visited my store, just enjoy it, have fun and make lots of mistakes, they can be your best work yet!!! As for me, I BREAK every rule in photography! lol

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Thanks! Glad you like it! I’m definitely having a lot of fun with my photography. I do try to use the things I learn about technique while also throwing them out the window at other times. Learning and then breaking the rules is the best way to go. Thanks for stopping by! I hope to see you participate in one of the 50mm challenges.

  3. Yup would like that!!!


Leave a Reply

