Festive Challenge – Winning Submission!

The winning submission for the Festive Challenge is:

50mm Experiment Festive Challenge WINNER

John Milton
1/5 sec at f 6.3, ISO 100

What I liked about the entry:

  • It is a bright, high key image. The lightness is happy and reminds me of the happiness around this time of year.
  • The way the ornaments are laid out and how a shallow depth of field has been used to make them disappear into the distance. My eye follows the line but is always brought back to the in focus bear.
  • There is nothing specifically “Chrismassy” about it, this photo could be used in any Northern Hemisphere (no snowmen in Australia 😛 ) area to denote any festive season that occurs this time of year! Love that!

You can see more of John Milton’s work on his blog. Check it out! John has won $100 towards on of my prints. Congratulations!

 

I’ve also pick an Honourable Mention:

50mm Experiment Festive Challenge Honourable MentionRachel Jane
1/200 sec at f2.8, ISO 200
SB 700 umbrella reflected
Edited & Cropped in Lightroom

And as promised, here’s a gallery of the other submission. As you can see, there weren’t as many submission as with the Inaugural Challenge. If you were thinking about submitting a photo but didn’t, I’d love to hear why that was. Not enough time? Too busy this time of year? Didn’t find something that inspired you? You can either post a comment below, or email me at korinekphotography@koreweb.com.

Merry Christmas to you and your families! Thanks for reading everyone.

I will be taking a bit of a break over the holidays (sometimes it is a good idea to unplug). I might get in one or two more posts before the new year. After that, I will be packing the campervan and doing a 2 month sojourn to Victoria, Tasmania and South Australia. I’ve decided that it is too hard logistically to update this blog over the course of this trip, meaning this site will be quiet for a while. I will try to update it from time to time, but it will really have to depend on my internet and power situation. Expect that there will be a ton of posts when I get back!! 🙂

Thanks again everyone. Wishing you all the best in the New Year if you don’t hear from me before then!

Matt

6 Comments on “Festive Challenge – Winning Submission!”

  1. rachel jane says:

    I love the winning photo! So many elements. Well done John!

  2. bananabatman says:

    A worthy winner. Congratulations John. I would have liked to enter but didn’t really have the time, but in any case probably couldn’t have challenged this image.

  3. vk says:

    Very nice winning entry!

    As for the Honourable mention – how did Rachel Jane talk the puppy into eating the tree ornaments and yet stay still for the picture?! A very nice picture as well.

    As for feedback, I do think it is a VERY busy time .. it is the 23rd here and we have not yet dressed our tree….

  4. […] won my first competition today at Matt Korinek’s 50mm Challenge. I was really pleased to be recognised in this way as this blog was all about showing pictures I […]

  5. Enjoy your trip! Can’t wait to see the pictures you create.


Leave a Reply

