How do you take photos of things that have to be seen in person?

Just a couple weeks ago I was contacted by someone who had seen my work when it was up on the walls of lululemon athletica Banff (I used to work there). He wanted to buy one of my prints for his parents for Christmas! I’m always super stoked when someone wants to put my artwork up on their wall!

Luckily, he had seen the Special Edition Sheer Finish in store, and knew how amazing it looks. However, I know that there’s a lot of people who won’t really know or understand what it looks like unless they see it in person. So today I tried taking a couple photos of on of my Special Edition prints to see if I could capture the effect in a picture.

I would NOT say I was successful however. It really has to be seen first hand!

1/13 sec at f2.8, ISO 200
Edited & Cropped in Lightroohttp

And here’s a close up of the sheer finish, whereby the surface of the metal shows through brighter areas giving the final product a translucent luminescence.

1/60 sec at f8.0, ISO 200
Raynox DCR-250 Macro Adapter
Edited & Cropped in Lightroom

And finally, here’s the print that he purchased – it is going to look awesome in 16×24!!

Boiling River Storm

Boiling River Storm
Yellowstone National Park

Sigma 10-20mm @ 10mm
1/1250 sec at f4.0, ISO 200
Singh-Ray Reverse Graduated Neutral Density Filter
Edited in Photoshop

Oh well, I’ll see if I can figure out another way to truly show how awesome the Special Edition Prints look!

Matt

2 Comments on “How do you take photos of things that have to be seen in person?”

  1. LOL, maybe I’ll be that good some day.

    Raven

  2. vk says:

    Yes, you really have to see this in person. I had heard about it, but could not picture it until I got one… 🙂


Leave a Reply

