Baking Day – Traditional Czech Christmas Cookies – Vanilcove Rohlicky

It is definitely a busy time of year!

The past Monday, the due date for the Festive Challenge came and went, and with it came fewer submissions than for the Inaugural Challenge. I’m not sure why that is, but I’m guessing it is because people are very busy – I know I am! This week has seen two days when I didn’t do my daily post, and even today, I’m finding myself forcing posting something even though my schedule has been packed.

The main part of today was spent baking tradition Czech Christmas cookies – Vanilcove Rohlicky! A couple of weeks ago I asked my mom for her recipe (cause her’s are the best of course) and she kindly forwarded it to me. There was a bit of a hitch, since part of the secret is not just the recipe, but the shape of the cookie itself. After trying a couple of things around the house that didn’t work, I went out in search for something that could – and find it I did!

So below you can see a photo of the cookies on the baking sheet ready to cook. At this point I’ve already finished baking and they turned out really well – a real taste of home! It’s a great nostalgic feeling when one is on the other side of the world traveling.

I miss everyone back home!

Matt

Czech Cookies - Vanilcove Rohlicky

1/60 sec at f2.8, ISO 200
SB 700 bounced
Edited in Lightroom

5 Comments on “Baking Day – Traditional Czech Christmas Cookies – Vanilcove Rohlicky”

  1. Mmmm… They look tasty! Where in the Czech Republic are you from? My husband’s family is from there; hence the last name Ftacnik. 🙂

  2. margiegtoo says:

    Matt
    I wanted to say how much I enjoy reading your blogs…. The ghost one is fabulous…. I sat beside your Dad at the Volleyball Christmas Party the other night and he was trying to help me with my camera. I see where you got your genes. My Czech next door neighbour, Jaroslava Prochazka is also making those cookies. She gives me them every Christmas. Merry Christmas Matt from the other side of the world…”UP and OVER”
    Marg

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Thanks Marg! I’m glad to hear you’ve been enjoying the blog and perhaps learning a thing or two! I was so happy that the cookies worked out, since they are such a tradition back home. Merry Christmas to you and your family as well!

  3. […] is my take on the Festive Challenge that was won by John Milton, and the finished product from my Czech Cookies post! Gotta love those milk and […]


Leave a Reply

