Ghostly Blinds – creativity comes under pressure

Wowzas!  What a whirlwind last 15 minutes. I didn’t know if I’d even have a post tonight!!

While having dinner out tonight, a part of me was worried that I hadn’t left myself enough time to take a photo – and that would have meant that I had gone two days without updating the blog (and I already felt bad about not posting yesterday!). I had no idea what I might even try to capture. I had a couple ideas, but none would be quick to let me get to sleep at a reasonable hour.

As I walked towards the house, I noticed the light shining out through the blinds. I thought it was pretty cool looking, however I wasn’t sure how to capture it to make it interesting. At first I just tried to take photos of the light, which did look cool, but there was nothing that I thought would make the viewer linger on the photo. I then figured that since I was already using the tripod (since the shutter speed was so long), I could put myself into the photo to add that human element by using the timed delay. My first try I sat too close to the camera and cut off my head. The second time I was placed properly, but the focus was off.

Finally the third try, I ran over to take my position and then sit as still as possible (to avoid motion blur due to me moving in the long shutter speed). As this thought of motion blur ran through my head, I suddenly felt the urge to quickly leave the frame in the hopes of creating a ghost like image – and boy did it ever work!!! 🙂

What you see below uses no Photoshop trickery. In fact I decided not to edit it at all, so you can see what it looks like straight out of camera. I’m really happy with how it turned out!! Successful experiment!

Ghostly Blinds

13 sec at f2.8, ISO 200
Camera on a Gitzo Tripod and Acratech Ballhead
No editing

I am super stoked about the results! Totally want to use this technique again sometime!!

What do you think?

Matt

12 Comments on “Ghostly Blinds – creativity comes under pressure”

  1. vk says:

    A bit scary, if you ask me….

  2. That is crazy wild (does that even make sense?) and I like it! I can’t figure out how you got your head so far over the wall though 🙂

  3. great work Matt!! has a creepy effect that works really well!

  4. I love this! What a fantastic idea and the execution is just perfect. Wonderful! 🙂

  5. miltonjohns says:

    Matt, I wish I had your ability. It takes me hours sometimes & you managed this in 15 minutes. I am definitely going to practice more. Absolutely brilliant. I love it. 🙂

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Thanks John! I appreciate the compliment. I suppose a lot of pre-work has gone into the fact that I can accomplish this in 15 minutes – I’m sure if you keep at it, the same will happen for you!


Leave a Reply

