Leaf X-ray

Click on the image to view large!

Black and White Leaf X-Ray

1/13 sec at f8.0, ISO 200
Raynox DCR-250 Macro Adapter

Edited in Lightroom

Pretty cool eh?

Sometime you search and search to find the right subject for a photo, and other times they happen upon you. This is an example of the latter.

When I got into my car yesterday morning, I noticed a leaf stuck to my windsheild. It was beautiful! The veins were totally transparent the the texture striking.

It had been raining all night and a layer of water had adhered 3/4 of the leaf to the glass. The early hour and clouds meant that my shutter speed would be too slow if I wanted to shoot at ISO 200 with adequate depth of field – but I did!

I set up my tripod in the front seat of the car with one leg going through the steering wheel and the other two on either side of me. I was basically pinned to the seat and used Live-view to compose the image.

In addition to the amazing veins, one of the cool things about the photo is that the water droplets are on the other side of the leaf. The side that I took the photo of was touching the glass, and therefore wouldn’t have had that type of droplet shape. I love the way they show through the leaf.

You can see the original colours in some of the other photos.

I’d love another shot at something like this, since the cramped area of the front seat limited me somewhat. I’m still happy with how they turned out!

Matt

9 Comments on “Leaf X-ray”

  1. Whoa…these photos are awesome!

  2. Stefan says:

    excellent shots – really well done makro! amazing waterdrops …

  3. margiegtoo says:

    Wow Matt… I really like your commentary too.

  4. vk says:

    Fascinating. These are great! And the treatment of the first one is super.

  5. miltonjohns says:

    Hi Matt

    Amazing as always. This was exactly what I was trying to pull off in the last challenge. I just love the detail in the veins. Just wonderful. I’m off to park under a tree… 🙂

  6. Matt Korinek says:

    Thanks everyone! I went back to the tree the next day when things were dryer, and I couldn’t find a leaf with that “look”. I’m guessing that because it had been sitting in the rain and submerged in water on my windshield all of the veins had become waterlogged and enlarged which made them so vivid. I’ll have to test this out by soaking a leaf in the future!

  7. rachel jane says:

    I love that this shot found you! The colour in the left I think is amazing.


Leave a Reply

