Selling my Tripod – product shots

Why am I selling my tripod you might ask?

Manfrotto 055MF4 leg detail

Manfrotto 055MF4

Well definitely not because it isn’t awesome. I’ve had this tripod for a couple years now and I love it! However, as with all things, photographers want to upgrade their equipment from time to time. That’s where I’m at. I’m currently waiting on a new tripod and ballhead to arrive and although I’d love to keep both, I need to sell my old one to help fund the new one.

I’m going to be posting it onto Gumtree (Australia’s version of Kijiji) in the next few days – details below. I thought that if any reader is interested in buying, that I would offer it up here first. If you do live in another country, I will have to add shipping to the price but I will give the shipping at cost.

I’ve sold things on Kijiji and Craigslist before, and I’ve always tried to make my photos of the items looks as enticing as possible. This time, I used Strobist techniques that I’ve been slowly been working towards improving. Anyone who’s looking at learning to use off camera flash has to check out David Hobby’s Strobist site – it is chock full of information. All of the photos you see here were taken by me. Scroll to the bottom to see a gallery of all the photos. I am super stoked with the results!!

Manfrotto Sticks & Ballhead

Manfrotto Sticks & Ballhead

FOR SALE:

Manfrotto 055MF4 Tripod with matching Manfrotto 488 RC4 Ballhead

Asking: $600 for both O.B.O. (or best offer)

This beautiful, versatile tripod with ballhead is in excellent working condition and shows only minor wear in certain areas. The tripod is made out of carbon fibre which is know to be more rigid at lighter weights than other materials. This makes it lightweight for the load it can carry.

Leg Locks

3 leg locks = 4 leg sections

The 055MF4 has 4 leg sections that makes it more compact than a regular 3 section tripod of the same final height. The leg locks are the q-r flip type which is fast and easy. To improve torsion resistance, the legs are all three-faceted. Each leg can also be set to up to 4 different angles independently.

Centre Column Adjustment

Centre Column Adjustment & Bubble Spirit Level

The centre column adjustment area is made out of magnesium which has a lower weight than aluminum while also being more rigid. It also has a bubble spirit level to let you know when the centre column is level.

The rapid centre column itself is made out of two parts that can be detached in order to either reverse the orientation of the centre column, put the centre column horizontally through the centre column adjustment area or allow for ground level work when placing the legs at 90 degrees.

Centre Column Horizontal

Centre Column Horizontal

Manfrotto 055MF4 Specifications (from the Manfrotto website)

– Closed Length = 54.0 cm
– Maximum Height (with centre column down) = 130.5 cm
– Maximum Height (with centre column fully extended) = 165.0 cm
– Minimum Height (with centre column split) = 11.0 cm
– Weight of the tripod = 2.0 kg
– Load Capacity of the tripod = 7.0 kg

Manfrotto 488RC4 Ballhead

Manfrotto 488RC4 Ballhead

The Ballhead is made of of aluminum and has a number of useful features.

Top Bubble Spirit Level

Top Bubble Spirit Level

The ballhead can carry a load of 8kg and has two bubble spirit levels to help you level your camera in either portrait or landscape orientation.

A double 90 degree grove on either side makes switching from landscape to portrait easy.

Etched Panoramic Degree Markings

Etched Panoramic Degree Markings

It has a panoramic rotation of 360 degrees with etched markings to aid with panoramas.

The quick release plate offers a broader footprint to improve stability and a secondary security lock so that you cannot accidentally release the plate and camera.

It has a rubberized ball lock knob and a separate pan lock for the panoramic rotation. This is helpful so that if you have your ball locked, you can still pan to create your panorama.

The ball head adds another 0.8 kg and 11.5 cm to the whole setup.

Ball Lock and Side Spirit Level     Pan Lock - Helpful for Panoramas

Ball Lock & Side Bubble Spirit Level       Pan Lock – Helpful for Panoramas

Rubberized Carrying Strap

Rubberized Carrying Strap

The last neat feature of this tripod is the attached carrying strap. It is rubberized for comfort and the end clips can be used to attach your camera bag to the setup, which adds weight and makes the whole thing even more stable in difficult conditions.

Phew! If you made it through reading that much, you must be interested! 😉 If you’re interested in purchasing, just post in the comment section or contact me directly 0411 751 356. Also, if you know someone who might be interested, pass along the link. If not, no worries! Hope you enjoyed the photos! Tomorrow I will do a post about the technique I used to achieve this look!

Matt

PS The gallery is after this last picture and includes some photos that I took of the tripod outside so that you can see the different configurations a bit better.

Manfrotto

2 Comments on “Selling my Tripod – product shots”

  1. vk says:

    Really excellent pictures!!

  2. […] few weeks ago I mentioned that I was selling my trusty old Manfrotto Tripod & Ballhead. They had been great companions over the past couple years, however it was time for an upgrade. […]


Leave a Reply

