Fordomatic – sounds like a type of camera eh?

It’s not though. It’s actually an awesome old car that I saw yesterday while walking around Lawson, NSW.

I have to say that I’m not really a car buff, and I haven’t felt the need to have a muscle car or big SUV since I was a teenager. However, when you see a car like this, you have to appreciate the beauty of its design and the effort undertaken to restore it!

Fordomatic

1/2000 sec at f1.8, ISO 200
Editied in Colour Efex Pro & Lightroom

Rachel Jane and I talked to the owner a bit, and I can’t even remember what year and model it actually was. It was definitely from the 1950’s and it had taken him 12 months to restore it.

Here are some other views of the beauty (click on any photo to see a larger version):

Fordomatic Grill   Fordomatic

Fordomatic   Fordomatic

Fordomatic   Fordomatic

In the last picture of the set, you can see the ugly not as beautiful compact car from the 90s that was parked very close…. I did my best to keep it out of the other photos!

Just to let you in a bit on my creative process. I tried about 10 different applications and really liked three of them. Out of those three, I ended up choosing the black and white with colour and then applied this to the rest of the photos. Here were my three choices plus the original (bottom right).

<     Fordomatic

Fordomatic     Fordomatic

Not too bad for someone who’s not really into cars! Which one of the treatments would you have chosen? (1 = top left, 2 = top right, 3 = bottom left, 4 = bottom right)

Matt

6 Comments on “Fordomatic – sounds like a type of camera eh?”

  1. bananabatman says:

    I would have chosen the first as well, though it’s a close call with No 3.

  2. rachel jane says:

    1 for me as well then probably 2! I this post.

  3. miltonjohns says:

    Its One for me as well. I really like these shots. 🙂

  4. Matt Korinek says:

    Cool, looks like I chose the “right” one! 😉 Thanks for the feedback everyone.


Leave a Reply

