What’s better than watching paint peel?

Watching bark peel!

My apologies about not posting yesterday. As I posted on twitter, I was working TWO jobs yesterday and barely had a break between the two. However, I was able to find a few minutes to take the photos below, but I did not have enough time to come up with a post!

 

Red Gum Tree Bark Peeling Green 1

1/50 sec at f2.8, ISO 500
Edited in Lightroom

Seriously! It’s odd for someone who’s from Canada to experience what Australians are used to. Many of the native gum trees (eucalypts) shed their bark every year. Back home, trees shed their leaves and the only examples of noticeable bark peeling occurs in birch trees.

Red Gum Tree Bark Peeling Green 2          Red Gum Tree Bark Peeling Green 3

1/50 sec at f2.8, ISO 400                       1/50 sec at f2.8, ISO 500
Both Edited in Lightroom

I think that given more time (or more trees!) I’d be able to come up with something better than above. Light was fairly dim due to the thick fog and since I didn’t have my tripod along, I had to bump up my ISO and take my chances with a slow shutter speed. I think that I also could have used a polarizer if I had it with me, as the wetness created glare that robs some of the colour vibrancy. I’ll keep my eye out for other trees like this, as I think the contrast between the old rusty red bark that is peeling off and the bright green new bark looks amazing!!

Hope your entries for the Inaugural Challenge are coming along! I had my first entry submitted two days ago and I’m excited to see more!

Today will be another tough day to find time to take photos, as it’s my birthday and I’ve been told there’s a lot of  stuff being planned for me (it’s all a surprise, so I have no idea what’s going on!!!). 🙂

Matt

5 Comments on “What’s better than watching paint peel?”

  1. vk says:

    Absolutely fascinating! The first one looks like a painting…

  2. Nice post and happy birthday….


Leave a Reply

