Water Drops Galore

And when I say “water drops galore” I mean rain. Lots of it!

 

Wide Drops Blue & Gold

1/640 Sec at f2.0, ISO 400
Cropped & Edited in Lightroom
View Large

It has been basically raining non-stop for the past 3 or 4 days in Western Sydney and the Blue Mountains. Causes some headaches when it comes to taking photos. The main reason I don’t like taking photos in the rain is because I don’t really know the capabilites of the weatherproofing on my D90. All I know is that it doesn’t have extensive rubber seals like higher end cameras from Nikon. I’m not about to test and see how much rain it can take before it stops working – since that would put me out of a camera body (and I only have the one!).

In the past I’ve set up my camera in the van to keep it dry. This time, I took a diferent approach. While walking outside in the rain with my camera under my water-resistant shell, I noticed the raindrops hitting a shallow puddle. I’ve seen it so many times before, but this time it struck me as especially beautiful.

I knew I could freeze the movement of the water similar to my water squirting experiment. But I wanted a different angle; mostly due to asthetics, but it also helped to keep my camera dry. How did it do that? Well the back of my head became an umbrella! 😛

I’d love to hear your feedback as to which photo you like the most. I had a really tough time picking a favourite. I’m choosing the one at the top because I love the wide angle aspect to it, and since it has nothing else but the drops, is more abstract since you can’t intially connect it to a concrete object. Even still, I’m not sure which colour treatment I like better (the second colour treatment is below). The rest of the best are below that in a gallery. What do you think?

In some of the pictures I included a fallen leaf to anchor in some kind of reality. I love the effect and am imagining taking a photo under similar condiditons back home in Canada with a bright red fall coloured maple leaf! 

Matt

Wide Drops Blue

5 Comments on “Water Drops Galore”

  1. I love these abstracts. Just wonderful. I agree, I think the first one is my favorite. I like the subtle color. Just beautiful.

  2. bananabatman says:

    I also prefer the colours in the first, and overall it is my favourite. I like the idea of the leaf, and like the leaf position in the 5th image but probably on the rain of the 3rd image, but there we go. Can’t have everything!

  3. vk says:

    I like the one with a bit more blue in it. And I also like #4, #5 and #6. They really are all great. Tough choice.


Leave a Reply

