Purple Trees! And no, I’m not on drugs…

Spring has spring down under and most of the trees have gone through their flower phase and are not covered in leaves. In this land of many flowers, I’ve seen many beautiful flowering trees. However, there has been one species of tree, the Jacaranda, that has absolutely exploded in the colour purple over the past couple weeks. They are so striking and many do not have a touch of green leaves yet.

I’ve been looking for a good candidate to take photos of with no luck. Most of the trees are by the side of the road with houses, cars and electric wires in the way of the type of shot I’m looking for.

Today I found a stand of 5 trees in a park in Penrith. As you can see, even though many flowers have already fallen, there’s still “heaps” (there’s some good Aussie slang for ya!) on the trees. I still haven’t found the perfect tree. I’m visualizing a lone purple tree in a vast field with no other trees nearby. But, you gotta take what you can get!! Here’s four different views of the trees with my 50mm:

Single Purple Tree1/80 sec at f4.0, ISO 200
Edited in Lightroom

3 Purple Trees1/80 sec at f4.0, ISO 200
Edited in Lightroom

Lone Purple Flower1/40 sec at f4.0, ISO 200
Cropped & Edited in Lightroom

Purple Flower Carpet1/200 sec at f1.8, ISO 200
Edited in Lightroom

I had some major issues trying to upload this post using my phone, so I’m not sure what that will mean to the experiment once I start traveling a bit more. It might just be due to the storm outside.

Matt

8 Comments on “Purple Trees! And no, I’m not on drugs…”

  1. Love the color! So vibrant.

  2. vk says:

    Very pretty with the carpet of fallen flowers underneath it… I’d love to see them once they actually turn green!

  3. Matt Korinek says:

    Thanks everyone for your positive comments!! I happy with how the shots worked out as well. Stay tuned, because in the next week I will be putting up my first challenge – I hope you all participate! 🙂

  4. […] Purple Trees! And no, I’m not on drugs… […]

  5. Danielle says:

    I don’t know about a lone tree in an empty field, but there are some great Jacarandas scattered around the UWS campuses. At Parramatta there is one beautiful tree sitting in front of the old Female Orphan School building – even if it wasn’t for the tree, the site would be worth visiting just for the building, which is amazing.


Leave a Reply

