Rub-a-dub-dub

Red tub1/125 sec at f4.0, ISO 200
Edited in Lightroom

I took a number of shots today, some that I pre-visualized and some on the spur of the moment. This one is the latter.

Today’s winner is the only shot I took of the tub. Walked up, took the shot and then moved on. Right when I saw it I wanted to have the red of the tub be echoed by the red on the garage door. I could’ve spent more time taking a look at different angles and I’m sure I could have gotΒ  some other interesting shots. I wasn’t sure it was going to be the one I chose at the time. Pretty stoked about how it turned out!

I guess my learning for today is that sometimes one shot is all you need – or maybe just a bright red tub?!? πŸ˜‰

I’ve increased the vibrancy, clarity, contrast (using curves) and gave it a dark vignette in Lightroom.

Hope you like it!

Matt

6 Comments on “Rub-a-dub-dub”

  1. vk says:

    Striking photo.. and yet SO simple. I do like it!

  2. miltonjohns says:

    One shot was definitely all you needed. A great learning for me on this. I often take far too many pictures & get frustrated.
    Love it. πŸ™‚

    • Matt Korinek says:

      I also know those feelings of frustration. Sometime they are well founded, while othertimes I’m unhappy with a shoot but come home to find out it wasn’t as bad as I thought! I was getting a bit frustrated yesterday as well, since I had some pictures, but I wasn’t being “blown away” or inspired by a lot on my walk. But one really good shot makes it totally worth it!

  3. I really like this one Matt, I think the very gentle hint of red on the garage door almost looks as if it is reflected. Nice processing here also, a gentle touch.

    I sometimes take a few shots of the same subject and I am amazed at how many times it is the first instinctive one that is the keeper.

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Thank you! I find that using vibrance instead of saturation adjustments works better to add colour without overdoing it. I’ve recently found out that the reason for this is because saturation saturates ALL the colours in an image. While Vibrance saturates only the more muted colours while leaving those that are already quite saturated alone.

      I’ve also had the same experience where I’ve taken a number of photos of the same subject, only to end up liking the first capture the most. I’m sure I have examples of the opposite in my photography as well!


Leave a Reply

