Clarence, Damn!

Day two of the 50mm experiment saw the arrival of not one, but two interesting conundrums!

Here’s the backstory:

I went with a group of friends to Clarence Dam in the Blue Mountains of Australia to have a swim and jump off some cliffs. The plan was to use my trusty 50mm to take photos for this blog. Sounds easy enough right?

Conundrum #1 hit when I saw the location and knew that my trusty 10-20mm wide angle would create some amazing images. In my mind, I started thinking “Will I be able to come up with some good pictures with my 50mm when all these 10mm photographic compositions going through my head?!?” I was able to find a few captures that I liked, but I found it hard to pick a favourite.

Part of the reason is because I don’t think today went amazingly when it came to the 50mm shots. I definitely had one that stood out, and I’d say the rest were “good.” Here’s that shot:

Feet First1/1600 sec at f2.8, ISO 200
Vignette Blur filter in Colour Efex Pro
Blue Hi-Contrast Filter preset in Lightroom

I didn’t spend my whole time just taking photos however… I wanted to jump and swim like everyone else!

Which led to conundrum #2. My favourite picture taken with my 50mm today wasn’t even taken by me! Fellow blogger Rachel Jane was nice enough to pick up my camera take photos of me as I jumped off the cliff. She took the picture below as I surveyed my landing site and I edited it:

Preparing on the Cliff1/4000 sec at f2.8, ISO 200
2:1 crop plus editing in Lightroom

I think it’s better than mine. You can check out her blog at www.sugarnstripes.com and see the photos I’ve taken for her. SEE! Even a novice photographer can take great photos using the 50mm!! 😉

Here are the shots I took today that made the cut. Some are just there because I think they capture a funny moment! All are edited and cropped using Lightroom. I found that a 2:1 crop was useful in a number of these shots. The last three ARE NOT taken with a 50mm – they’re the pics I took with the 10-20mm. I never said I couldn’t take pics using my other lenses – they just couldn’t be my pick of the day!! 😛

Many thanks to all the guys who let me take their picture and then post it on this blog!

The weekend is over and with it the free time to take lots of pictures. Tomorrow will be an interesting challenge, since I’m back to work and won’t have all the hours in a day to devote to taking photos. We’ll see what happens!

I had a lot of fun this weekend and I hope you had a great weekend as well! 🙂

Matt

8 Comments on “Clarence, Damn!”

  1. Your spot on the composition in the first one is just perfect. The choice of DOF works very well.

  2. vk says:

    Moments STOPPED in time… Excellent. I like the one where the guy looks like he is just standing on water! :). Good timing.

    Is it the speed adjustments that makes these look so sharp? How do you focus on an object that is “flying” by your camera??

    (I also really like the one that Rachel took.)

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Yeah, I like the moment when his toes are just entering the water, but as a photo, I’m not sure I love it. A fast shutter speed definitely plays a role in the image being sharp, as that stops any motion-blur. As for focus, Sometimes I used focus tracking, while at other angles I was able to prefocus at a distance I knew the subject would be at and then hit the shutter. This post was more of a combination of luck and continuous shutter. I haven’t used that technique in a while, but it worked out pretty well yesterday!

  3. miltonjohns says:

    Looks like a great day was had by all. I loved the Blue Mountains when I visited years ago. Didn’t go here though, but I guess you have to be in the know.
    Great action pictures. Rachel’s composition in her picture is very good. She certainly has a good eye for a shot.

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Yeah the Blue Mountains is definitely a beautiful spot! Up there with my favourites. 🙂 It does help knowing people who have lived up here their whole lives to show you around!

      I will pass along your compliment to Rachel – I’m sure she’ll appreciate it!

  4. Aaron says:

    These pictures are incredible!


Leave a Reply

