Day one

Day one has been a success I’d say! I went for a very short walk to the local post office (which was closed… Grrrr…) And got a few pics along the way! So in about a twenty minute time period, I was able to capture the images below.

This picture is my pick of the bunch (click on the image to see a larger version):

 

1/100 second at f8.0, ISO 200

Post-processed in Lightroom

Here’s a gallery of all of the ones I’m happy with from today:

I’d love to hear what you think of the photos! Please feel free to ask any questions you might have about how I captured an image or what I did to post-process an image. 🙂

Matt

6 Comments on “Day one”

  1. miltonjohns says:

    Hi Matt, a great first day. Some excellent pictures on such a short walk. The white picket fence is great, a simple subject. What did you do to the image in processing. Its a great effect. I love the two yellow flower shots & the ivy on the wall. Did you colour pop the ivy?

    Looking forward to tomorrow.

    John

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Hey John! Yeah I was pretty happy with what I captured in such a short time. I’m sure it won’t be that easy everyday! 🙂

      I was really excited when I found the fence while walking down the street. The owner of the house was actually putting some stuff in his car, so we spoke about it for a bit. In fact he’s just planed the hedges a few months ago to replace the rotting fence (once they get big enough). I’m glad I got the photo before he gets rid of it!

      For the picket fence photo that was “my pick”, I used lightroom to increase the exposure slightly (+0.60), increased the clarity to add more texture, improved contrast using the curves tool and added a slight black vignette. As you can see, the colours are also muted. I achieved this by decreasing vibrance (not saturation) since you get a difference effect. I’ve only recently figured out what the difference is between the two! 😛

      As for the ivy shot. I used Nik Software’s Silver Efex Pro where you can easily mask colours and just have them show up while the rest is desaturated to black and white. I also used the program to pull back the brightness (as I liked the more muted green than the bright green of the original photo) and I added structure (Nik software’s name for clarity). Once again I added a slight black vignette.

      Hope that helps! 🙂

      Matt

      • miltonjohns says:

        It certainly does Matt. I find it interesting to see what people do to their pictures & I always try & take note for when I want to experiment in doing the same. Its a great way to learn.
        Many thanks. John

  2. vk says:

    I find it fascinating how the two fence pictures vary in mood. One if very somber, the other one very lively. Amazing what editing can do. Great pictures!

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Thanks vk! It is definitely interesting what editing can do to a photo. I knew I wanted both looks, so I took a number of photos of the fence. I liked the ones with the broken parts the most, so I chose to use those for the editing!

  3. […] since Rachel Jane told me that the yellow flowers I included in my Day 1 post were used by boys to squirt water at the girls when she was younger. I wanted to see if I could […]


Leave a Reply

