And it begins…

Hello and welcome to the 50mm experiment!

My name is Matt and I’m a Canadian Photographer currently living in Australia. I’ve been a photographer for a few years now and I feel I’ve been successful in developing my skills and creativity over that time. As you can see below, I have experience in a number of genres of photography. However, I have found over the years that I don’t push myself as much as I could and as a result, I don’t feel I am always challenging my creativity.

So that’s what this blog is all about. I’m going to force myself to post a picture everyday. Nothing like the fear of having to post a picture I’m not happy with to stir those creative juices…. lol!

And, to make things harder on myself, I’m only allowing myself to post photos taken with my 50mm f1.8 lens. It is easily the most lightweight and cheapest lens in any camera maker’s product range. I chose it for three main reasons:

  1. Lighter means more less annoying to take out on a regular basis, and if it breaks it is cheap to replace
  2. Its a great way to show beginner photographers that you don’t need the most expensive equipment
  3. Requiring myself to stick with the one lens forces me to look at my photography differently and become creative at taking photos at a specific focal length

This doesn’t mean that I won’t use my other lenses at all, just not for this experiment. Have a look at the pages above to read about how I came up with the idea, a bit about me,and the rules of the experiment. The aspect that I’m most excited about is the Challenge section. I’d like this blog to be interactive and from time to time I will be issuing challenges for both budding and professional photographers to improve their craft. Winner’s photos will be posted on the blog and depending on how much this blog grows, perhaps we’ll get to the point where I can even give out prizes!! But that will be very dependent on YOUR participation! 🙂

All of the photos posted on this site will be available for purchase as a print (unless otherwise noted) in addition to the wide selection of photographs available on my website. I would also be very happy to capture that special moment in time for you or help you improve your own photography.

Below are some examples of photos I’ve taken over the years. I’ve done portraits (all ages), weddings, events, fashion, food, wildlife and landscape photography to name a few.

So today is the first day that I’ll be out there with my trusty 50mm for the purposes of this experiment. I totally picked a weekend so that I’d have more time… 😛

Wish me luck!

Matt

Photo Portfolio Collage

5 Comments on “And it begins…”

  1. miltonjohns says:

    Hi Matt

    There are some great pictures here. You clearly are very knowledgable. I’m going to follow your experiment & hope to pick up some advice along the way & obviously some inspiration.

    Can’t wait. Good luck. 🙂

  2. Matt Korinek says:

    Hi Milton!

    Nice to meet you! Thanks for the compliment, and I do hope that you get something out of my blog as well! Should be interesting, as I’m not entirely sure how it’ll all turn out! Hopefully you participate in a future contest – as I’d love to see what you can come up with!

    Matt

  3. miltonjohns says:

    I will definitely be taking part. I really enjoy the entire learning curve with photography & a challenge to get involved in is a chance to see what Ive learnt.

    Take care.

    John

  4. Will Barton says:

    G’day Matt,

    Your lovely lady Rach put me onto your blog and I have to say I admire you courage to challenge yourself (and so publicly) in such a way; you obviously don’t have children!!!

    I look forward to seeing how creative you can get and what you produce.

    I’ve been into photography (really only serious about landscapes to this point) for about 5 years, you can check out either http://willbarton.redbubble.com or http://willbartonphotography.blogspot.com/

    Good luck and I’ll be watching with excitement!

    Cheers,
    Will

    • Matt Korinek says:

      Hi Will!

      Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate the kind words. It is definitely a bit scary to make the commitment to this challenge, but I figure that is part of the learning process of this experiment. And no, I don’t have kids… 😉

      I have to say that I love your “trunks in the mist”. It’s an amazing capture!! You have some other great images on your site(s). Thanks for the inspiration!

      Perhaps you’ll choose to participate in one of the challenges when they come up! I’d love to see what you could come up with.

      Matt


Leave a Reply

