50mm – March 2012 Challenge: Water – WINNING SUBMISSION

The winning submission for the March 2012 Challenge: Water is:

Pomegranites by Rachel Jane - Two Loves Blog - http://twoloves.wordpress.comRachel Jane
1/8 sec at f8.0, ISO 250

What I loved about Rachel’s Submission:

  • Not only did it use water, it used water in two different forms (liquid and solid)
  • The condensation on the sides of the glass shows you how cold the water really is – it makes you feel like you’re there.
  • Creative styling and placement of elements and a great composition
  • It has that monochromatic feel with a pop of colour coming from the red pomegranates

Rachel has a lot of other amazing photos for you to check out on her blog Two Loves: Combining the love of food and photography. This photo is part of an A-Z project that you should definitely check out if you’re interested in food photography.

I have to say that although I’m receiving less submissions then before, the quality is getting better! It is great to see people growing their craft. Thanks again for following the blog and doing your own 50mm experimentation.

That said, I’m going to make a concerted effort to find out what I can do to get more submission. This blog has a number of follower but many have chosen not to participate.

I will be posting a Poll in the next few days (I’ve never tried to do a poll on WordPress so bear with me…) that I hope that all readers of the blog will respond to. It shouldn’t take long and it will go towards improving the 50mm Experiment Challenges.

I thank you in advance for your participation.

Matt

6 Comments on “50mm – March 2012 Challenge: Water – WINNING SUBMISSION”

  1. rachel jane says:

    Reblogged this on Sugar n Stripes and commented:
    This was my submission into the 50mm Experiment Water Challenge. This was such a fun challenge because I successfully managed to integrate the idea of water into my food photography project. I was pushed to be creative and I learned a thing or two about photographing water and ice! A post dedicated to this shoot will follow ‘P’ in my A-Z photo project and include more photos and a recipe. xx

  2. miltonjohns says:

    And a very worthy winner indeed. I love the composition of this picture. Rachel Jane has a fantastic ability to “see” a fab picture & continues to push me to do the same. I just wish I could “see” the same. I’m jealous. Keep up the great work. :)

    • rachel jane says:

      Sometimes I do need a little help ‘seeing’ things! ;) I am touched that I make you push yourself! This shot had to be carefully planned, working with ice and condensation can definately be stressful!

  3. miltonjohns says:

    I forgot to add, I did think of ice as well, but as my mind was thinking of throwing things at the boys, I thought the balloons would be safer!!

  4. vk says:

    Excellent! Congratulations Rachel!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers